Breakfast Blitz Part Four: Healthy Banana Pancakes

This will probably be my last breakfast post as I have been gathering up some other recipes that I am aching to post, but I wanted to get this one on because it is just SO easy and healthy – it’s almost as fast as getting yourself cereal in the morning. Well, maybe that’s a slight exaggeration, but the point is – you can do it!

Once again, my love of oats and bananas are married in a recipe. I have been experimenting quite a lot with oat bran, and I am loving how versatile it is in baking – the need for flour is really reduced (or often eliminated) when cooking with it. As for bananas? They are perfect for a pancake because they provide enough moisture to allow you to forego the oil completely.

This recipe is fast, healthy and easy to assemble. It makes about 8 moist and fluffy, medium-sized pancakes, and can be doubled for a bigger (or hungrier) crowd. Once again, I have used cardamom instead of a more predictable cinnamon, because I love the taste combination of banana and cardamom. I’ve also used spelt in the recipe because I am going through an obsession with spelt flour, but whole wheat flour works just as well. Although I have not yet attempted it, I am fairly certain you could use soya or almond milk in place of the regular milk.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup oat bran

1/3 cup whole spelt or wheat flour

1 tsp sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp cardamom

2 ripe bananas, mashed

2/3 cup milk

1 egg

1 Tbsp plain yoghurt (or oil)

8 broken walnut pieces (optional)

Mix all of the dry ingredients together. If you want to make a really fluffy pancake, sift the spelt flour first; the bran will remain in the sieve, but you should add it on top of the flour. Mix the wet ingredients with a whisk, and then add to the dry ingredients. Mix well, and if it’s still very thick, add a splash more of milk. Ladle into a heated pan and cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip, and cook a minute or two longer. Enjoy with maple syrup!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast

Leave a Reply

